Russia blacklists 121 Australians including journalists


A general view of a street in Moscow, Russia. File photo

Russia on Thursday announced it was blacklisting 121 Australian citizens, including defence officials, businessmen and reporters and editors from media outlets including The Sydney Morning Herald and The Australian.

The blacklist has been put together in response to “the growing sanctions of the Australian government, which apply to an increasing number of Russian citizens,” the Russian foreign ministry said.


US, Germany sending weapons to Ukraine as Russia advances

US-led coalition says senior Daesh official detained in Syria

The people on the list, including Defence Force Chief General Angus Campbell, AI researcher Toby Walsh and The Australian’s editor-in-chief Christopher Dore, are barred from entering Russia “indefinitely”, the ministry said in a statement.

Russia has accused the sanctioned figures of promoting a “Russophobic agenda” and said that the blacklist would be expanded in the future.

In April, Moscow announced entry bans on the leaders of Australia and New Zealand in tit-for-tat measures after Canberra and Wellington imposed sanctions on Russia over its military campaign in Ukraine.

Agence France-Presse


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here