Af Maqam wins Ruler of Sharjah Cup again as Nabooda enjoys double


AF Maqam, ridden by Tadhg O’Shea, races towards the finish line to win Ruler of Sharjah Cup on Sunday.

Gulf Today, Staff Reporter

Af Maqam won the HH The Ruler of Sharjah Cup for the second straight year at the final fixture of the current campaign of the Sharjah Equestrian and Racing Club on Sunday.

Drawn widest of the 10 runners, Tadhg O’Shea worked his way up to settle behind Yas Xmnsor (Amur Al Rasbi) and Fadiah Al Wathba (Bernardo Pinheiro) before producing a strong run on the home stretch to win by a neck.

AF Maqam’s victory also sealed a double for trainer Ernst Oertel and Khalid Khalifa Al Naboodah after Marcelino Rodrigues landed the second race on AF Qadeh.

The Sharjah Marathon, a 2700m handicap, was won by Kadar with Richard Mullen in the saddle for Sheikha Alyazia Bint Sultan Al Nahyan and Salem Al Ketbi.

Dawson also enjoyed a double by winning the opening race on Jaber Bittar’s Azzouz and the concluding thoroughbred handicap aboard Ahmad Bin Harmarsh’s Dubai Vision.

A 2000m handicap for horses foaled in the UAE was won by Mutefjr W’Rsan, under Sam Hitchcott for Jaci Wickham, in the colours of Sheikh Hazza Bin Sultan Bin Zayed Al Nahyan.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here