Delhi win toss, opt to bowl first against Bangalore in IPL match


Virat Kohli (L) and Faf du Plessis run between the wickets during the IPL match at the M. Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru on Saturday. AFP

Delhi Capitals captain David Warner won the toss and opted to bowl first against Royal Challengers Bangalore in the 20th match of the IPL 2023 at the M. Chinnaswamy Stadium on Saturday.

Delhi, who are yet to win a game this season, made one change as Mitchell Marsh came in place of Rovman Powell.

“We are going to bowl first. The ground looks incredible, credit to the staff here. It’s about getting one win, the momentum follows from there. We don’t want to lose wickets in the powerplay. We have a change. Marsh comes in for Powell,” said David Warner at the toss.

Bangalore, who also lost their game, also made a change, bringing in Wanindu Hasaranga in place of David Willey. Vyshak Vijaykumar is also making his IPL debut for RCB.

“Would have done the same. Hopefully it will turn in the second innings. This stays a good wicket generally. Will be important for me and Virat to assess the conditions early. It’s difficult to defend in death overs. We have been good at our home ground as a batting unit. You got to pick your best batters and bowlers. Hasaranga comes in for Willey,” said RCB skipper Faf du Plessis.

Indo-Asian News Service


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here