Karama Kings become champions of first DXB Cricket League


Karama Kings pose with the trophy after their victory in the final of the DXB League.

Gulf Today, Staff Reporter

Karama Kings won the inaugural edition of the Dubai Cricket Council’s DXB League. Rajaram Subedi was the man of the final for his unbeaten half century in Karama Kings four wicket win over Barsha Bangers at the DP World Cricket Ground in Jabel Ali on Thursday.

Put into bat Barsha Bangers raised 190 for 9 in 30 overs but Karama achieved those runs in 28.4 overs to emerge champions. Subedi was outstanding with the bat scoring 57 from 32 balls after clobbering two sixes and two fours.

Subedi was later declared the Best Batsman of the Tournament.

Earlier Lucky Abbas (23) and Lenoy Kurien (27) tried to steady things for Barsha after Sunil Gagwani sent two of Barsha’s batsmen back to the pavilion cheaply.

Santosh Kotian too chipped in with two wickets from the other end and Barsha looked in trouble until Nikhil Srinivasan and Shajil Balan bailed them out with a 47 run partnership.

Nikhil’s 34 came from 26 balls and consisted of a six and two fours and Shajil stroked 43 from 34 balls with three boundaries.

Darshan Pagarani chipped in with 20 but the Karama bowlers kept it tight and ensured Barsha did not get past the 200 run mark.

Deepak Odhrani gave Karama a perfect start in their chase. The opener was quick to reach 20 from 15 balls with four well timed boundaries.

After his departure the Jhunjhunwalas, Porush and Piyush, took over. Together they put up 63 runs with Porush contributing 35 and Piyush 30.

Victory was still not within reach for Karama. It took a crackling knock from Rajaram to take them past the winning tape and to the trophy. Rajaram received good support from Sharan Pinto (22 not out).

Sharan Pinto bagged the Best Bowler of the tournament award for his 18 wickets from 6 matches.

But the Player of the tournament award went to Ramandeep Sharma of Deira Bhai’s.

Five teams — Satwa Sloggers, Karama Kings, Deira Bhai’s, Barsha Bangers and Renegades contested in this double round robin tournament with the top two teams making it to the final.
The tournament is played mainly by veterans on weekdays with coloured clothing and under lights.

With the success of the first edition the sponsors Godrej and DCC are all geared up to get the second edition of the Godrej DXB League under way from the first week of February.

Apart from the five teams that participated in the first edition this time Red Rock will be an addition making for a six-team double round robin format.

Brief scores (final): Karama Kings beat Barsha Bangers by 4 wickets
Barsha Bangers 190 for 9 in 30 overs (Lucky Abbas 23, Lenoy Kurien 27, Nikhil Srinivasan 34, Shajil Balan 43, Darshan Pagarani 20 n.o.; Sunil Gagwani 2-32, Santosh Kotian 2-29) Karama Kings 191 for 6 in 28.4 overs (Deepak Odhrani 20, Porush Jhunjhunwala 35, Piyush Jhunjhunwala 30, Rajaram Subedi 57 n.o., Sharan Pinto 22 n.o.; Lucky Abbas 2-27).

Man of the match: Rajaram Subedi.

Other award winners:

Best batsman: Rajaram Subedi of Karama Kings (8 matches, 353 runs).

Best bowler: Sharan Pinto of Karama Kings (6 matches, 18 wickets).

Player of the tournament: Ramandeep Sharma of Deira Bhai’s (8 matches, 374 runs & 16 wickets).


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here