Latham lifts New Zealand to 163-5 in third Pakistan T20


Haris Rauf (R) celebrates after taking the wicket of Tom Latham (L) during the third T20 match between at the Gaddafi Cricket Stadium in Lahore on Monday night. AFP

Skipper Tom Latham hit a solid half century to lead New Zealand to 163-5 in the must-win third Twenty20 against Pakistan in Lahore on Monday.

Trailing 2-0 in the five-match series and seeking to save the series, New Zealand — who won the toss and batted —were anchored by Latham’s 49-ball 64 at Gaddafi Stadium in Lahore.

Latham, who hit seven boundaries and two sixes, added 65 for the third wicket with Daryl Mitchell who scored a 26-ball 33 with a six and two boundaries.

Rizwan-Shadab-Babar-T20NZ Shadab Khan (C) celebrates with teammates after taking the wicket of Will Young (not pictured). AFP

Mark Chapman made 16 not out off nine balls as New Zealand managed 51 in the last five overs.

Lanky paceman Shaheen Shah Afridi — playing his 50th T20I — took 2-33 while his fellow pacer Haris Rauf finished with 2-31.

Pakistan won the first match by 88 and the second by 38 runs, also in Lahore.

ChadBowes-NZ Chad Bowes is clean bowled by Shaheen Shah Afridi (not pictured) during the third T20 match in Lahore. AFP

New Zealand brought back fast bowler Adam Milne and leg-spinner Ish Sodhi, who replaced Cole McConchie and Henry Shipley.

Pakistan, who lead the five-match series 2-0, left out fast bowler Zaman Khan to bring in Naseem Shah, in a like-for-like change.


Pakistan: Babar Azam (captain), Shadab Khan, Faheem Ashraf, Fakhar Zaman, Haris Rauf, Iftikhar Ahmed, Imad Wasim, Mohammad Rizwan, Saim Ayub, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Naseem Shah

New Zealand: Tom Latham (captain), Chad Bowes, Mark Chapman, Matt Henry, Ben Lister, Adam Milne, Ish Sodhi, Daryl Mitchell, Jimmy Neesham, Rachin Ravindra, Will Young

Umpires: Ahsan Raza (PAK) and Faisal Afridi (PAK)

TV umpire: Aleem Dar (PAK)

Match referee: Ali Naqvi (PAK)

Agence France-Presse


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here