Pakistan score 182 in first T20 against New Zealand


Saim Ayub plays a shot as New Zealand’s wicketkeeper captain Tom Latham watches during the first T20 match at the Gaddafi Cricket Stadium in Lahore on Friday. AFP

Fakhar Zaman and Saim Ayub lifted Pakistan to 182 all out batting first in the opening T20 international against New Zealand in Lahore on Friday.

Captain Babar Azam fell for just nine in his 100th T20I appearance, but Zaman and Ayub scored 47 runs apiece and put on a 79-run partnership for the third wicket after Pakistan won the toss.

Zaman struck four fours and two sixes in his 34-ball knock while Ayub’s rapid 28-ball innings featured two sixes and six fours.

Matt Henry was the pick of the New Zealand bowlers with 3-32, as Pakistan were bowled out on the penultimate ball.

Babar-NZ-1st-T20 Babar Azam (C front) walks off the field as New Zealand’s players celebrate after his dismissal. AP

Earlier captain Babar Azam won the toss and opted to bat in the first Twenty20 match against New Zealand in Lahore on Friday, his 100th appearance for Pakistan in the 20-over format.

Azam is the third Pakistani to play 100 or more T20 matches, behind Shoaib Malik (124) and Mohammad Hafeez (119).

Azam, Mohammad Rizwan, Fakhar Zaman, Shaheen Shah Afridi and Haris Rauf return after they were rested in the 2-1 series defeat to Afghanistan in Sharjah last month.

New Zealand are missing eight key players who are taking part in the Indian Premier League and will be skippered by Tom Latham.


Pakistan: Babar Azam (captain), Shadab Khan, Faheem Ashraf, Fakhar Zaman, Haris Rauf, Iftikhar Ahmed, Imad Wasim, Mohammad Rizwan, Saim Ayub, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Zaman Khan

New Zealand: Tom Latham (captain), Chad Bowes, Mark Chapman, Matt Henry, Ben Lister, Adam Milne, Daryl Mitchell, Jimmy Neesham, Rachin Ravindra, Ish Sodhi, Will Young

Umpires: Ahsan Raza (PAK) and Faisal Afridi (PAK)

TV umpire: Asif Yaqoob (PAK)

Match referee: Ali Naqvi (PAK)

Agence France-Presse


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here