Pakistan win toss, elect to bat against West Indies in final ODI


Imam-ul Haq avoids a ball during the third ODI match at the Multan Cricket Stadium on Sunday. AP

Pakistan skipper Babar Azam won the toss and elected to bat in the third and final One-Day International (ODI) against the West Indies on Sunday.

Pakistan, which is on the verge of a clean sweep after winning the first two contests, awarded an ODI debut to fast bowler Shahnawaz Dahani and rested Shaheen Shah Afridi. Paceman Hasan Ali returned to the squad after getting dropped from the second game and replaced Haris Rauf.

West Indies dropped Brandon King after the batsman struggled against Pakistan’s bowlers in the first two games and also rested fast bowlers Alzarri Joseph and Anderson Phillip.

Middle-order batter Keacy Carty got his first game of the series and replaced King while all-rounder Keemo Paul and Jayden Seals replace Joseph and Phillip.

Pakistan won the first game by five wickets after successfully chasing down a target of 306 runs. West Indies batsmen struggled against the left-arm spin of Mohammad Nawaz in the second game as the tourists were bowled out for 155. Left-arm spinner Nawaz picked up career-best figures of 4-19 in Pakistan’s thumping 120-run win.


Pakistan: Babar Azam (captain), Fakhar Zaman, Imam-ul-Haq, Mohammad Rizwan, Mohammad Haris, Khushdil Shah, Shadab Khan, Mohammad Nawaz, Hasan Ali, Mohammad Wasim Jr., Shahnawaz Dahani.

West Indies: Nicholas Pooran (captain), Shai Hope, Shamarh Brooks, Keacy Carty, Kyle Mayers, Rovman Powell, Keemo Paul, Akeal Hosein, Hayden Walsh Jr., Romario Shepherd, Jayden Seals.

Associated Press


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here