Pakistan win toss, elect to field against India in Asia Cup at Dubai Cricket Stadium


Babar Azam watches as Rohit Sharma spins the coin at the toss ahead of the T20 match in Dubai on Sunday. AP

Pakistan captain Babar Azam won his first toss in the Asia Cup and decided to field against archrival India in their Super 4 game on Sunday.

India clinched their round 1 match up against Pakistan when it recorded a five-wicket victory in the group game at the same venue last Sunday.

India had to make two unforced changes after all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja was ruled out of the remainder of the tournament due to a knee injury he sustained during the last group game against Hong Kong.

Fast bowler Avesh Khan also had to sit out due to illness as power-hitter Deepak Hooda and leg-spinner Ravi Bishnoi got their first game of the tournament.


All-rounder Hardik Pandya, who played a key role with both bat and ball in the last game against Pakistan, also returned to the side after getting rested for the last group game.

Pakistan made one change after fast bowler Shahnawaz Dahani had a suspected side strain and was replaced by paceman Mohammad Hasnain.

Hasnain was recalled for the Asia Cup after Pakistan’s premium fast bowler Shaheen Shah Afridi was ruled out due to a knee injury.

India: Rohit Sharma (captain), KL Rahul, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant, Deepak Hooda, Hardik Pandya, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Ravi Bishnoi, Arshdeep Singh, Yuzvendra Chahal

Pakistan: Babar Azam (captain), Mohammad Rizwan, Fakhar Zaman, Iftikhar Ahmed, Khushdil Shah, Shadab Khan, Asif Ali, Mohammad Nawaz, Haris Rauf, Mohammad Hasnain, Naseem Shah.


Associated Press


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here