Saka replaces Rashford for England’s World Cup clash with Senegal


England fans inside the Al Bayt Stadium before their match against Senegal in Al Khor, Qatar, on Sunday. Reuters

Gareth Southgate recalled Bukayo Saka for England’s World Cup last 16 clash with Senegal on Sunday as Marcus Rashford was dropped despite scoring twice against Wales.

Rashford’s double inspired a 3-0 win over Wales in England’s final Group B match, ensuring their progress to the knockout stages.

But Southgate opted to restore Arsenal winger Saka to his starting line-up at the expense of the Manchester United star, who is England’s leading scorer in this year’s tournament with three goals.

Saka scored in England’s 6-2 win against Iran and played in their goalless draw with the United States before being left out against Wales.

In a blow to Southgate, England’s official Twitter account said Chelsea winger Raheem Sterling was unavailable for selection because he is “dealing with a family matter,”

Senegal were without suspended Everton midfielder Idrissa Gueye, so Leicester’s Nampalys Mendy came into the team.

Krepin Diatta also earned a start for Senegal in place of Pape Gueye.

Whoever wins at the Al Bayt Stadium will face World Cup holders France in the quarter-finals on Saturday.


England (4-3-3)

Jordan Pickford; Kyle Walker, John Stones, Harry Maguire, Luke Shaw; Declan Rice, Jordan Henderson, Jude Bellingham; Bukayo Saka, Harry Kane, Phil Foden

Coach: Gareth Southgate (ENG)

Senegal (4-3-3)

Edouard Mendy; Youssouf Sabaly, Kalidou Koulibaly, Abdou Diallo, Ismail Jakobs; Krepin Diatta, Nampalys Mendy, Pathe Ciss; Iliman Ndiaye, Boulaye Dia, Ismaila Sarr

Coach: Aliou Cisse (SEN)

Referee: Ivan Barton (ESA)

Agence France-Presse


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here