Sheikh Nahyan unveils trophy for inaugural edition of UAE’s ILT20


Sheikh Nahyan Bin Mabarak Al Nahayan with Tayeb Kamali, Khalid Al Zarooni and Mubashshir Usmani during the unveiling ceremony of the ILT20 trophy in Dubai on Monday.

Sheikh Nahyan Bin Mubarak Al Nahyan, Minister of Tolerance and Coexistence and Chairman, Emirates Cricket Board, unveiled the ILT20 trophy at an ILT20 stakeholder’s function hosted on Monday and attended by League stakeholders and cricket-greats.

Witnessing the unveiling, of one of the most distinctive trophies in cricket, were Jay Mehta (Abu Dhabi Knight Riders), Paul Voigt (Desert Vipers), Kiran Grandhi (Dubai Capitals), Pranav Adani (Gulf Giants), Nikhil Meswani (Owner – MI Emirates), Rajesh Sharma (Sharjah Warriors), and Punit Goenka (Zee Entertainment Enterprises), alongside cricketing-greats Dwayne Bravo, Wasim Akram, Simon Doull, Robin Uthappa, and Brett Lee.

Mubashshir Usmani, General Secretary, Emirates Cricket Board (ECB) said: “It is an exciting and significant milestone that the ILT20 trophy made its debut at this event, and it is a matter of delight to do so amongst our esteemed stakeholders of the League this evening.

“It was also very heartening to see that legendary cricketing figures could also participate in the celebration and commemoration of this historic event.” Designed and constructed by world-renowned trophy makers, Thomas Lyte (England), the silver trophy brings together influences that reflect and honour UAE’s rich heritage and culture.

Leading this influence is UAE’s majesty icon and revered national bird the falcon, whose teardrop shape makes up the trophy’s form, while the seven Emirates (of the UAE) are woven in through a 7-pointed crown, shaped as sand dunes inspired by the incredible sands of Tel Moreeb (Al Dhafra, Abu Dhabi) – considered to be the world’s tallest dunes, which proudly sits atop clasping a cricket ball, as the trophy’s finial. And, in a pointed nod to the UAE’s most famous landmark, the Burj Khalifa, the trophy stands 830mm, reflecting the height of the Burj Khalifa which measures 830m from ground to tip.

“The team is incredibly proud of this magnificent piece, it truly reflects the essence and the spirit of the League, and we expect it will become a much-coveted trophy which will take pride-of-place in the winning team’s (trophy) cabinet for years to come.” Usmani added. Cricket fans across the world can catch the live telecast of this exciting cricket league on ZEE’s linear channels and digital platform.

Franchise teams, comprising 84 International and 24 UAE-based players, include Abu Dhabi Knight Riders (Kolkata Knight Riders), Desert Vipers (Lancer Capital), Dubai Capitals (GMR), Gulf Giants (Adani Sportsline), MI Emirates (Reliance Industries), and Sharjah Warriors (Capri Global). ILT20 combines two of the most compelling aspects of global sport – world-class infrastructure coupled with the most favourable time zone catering to cricket fans around the world.

Franchise teams include Abu Dhabi Knight Riders (Kolkata Knight Riders), Desert Vipers (Lancer Capital), Dubai Capitals (GMR), Gulf Giants (Adani Sportsline), MI Emirates (Reliance Industries), and Sharjah Warriors (Capri Global). ILT20 has received multi-year ICC approval.

In the previous month, the 2022 Men’s T20 Asia Cup, which was played between India, Pakistan, Hong Kong, Afghanistan, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh witnessed a number of star performers who will dazzle the crowd in the inaugural season of the ILT20. Sri Lanka’s leg-spin all-rounder superstar Wanindu Hasaranga, who will wear the Desert Vipers jersey in the ILT20, finished as the second highest wicket-taker in the tournament with nine scalps and helped Sri Lanka lift the Asia Cup trophy for the sixth time.

Meanwhile, Hasaranga’s compatriots, Sri Lanka captain Dasun Shanaka and Dushmantha Chameera, who missed the tournament due to injury, will appear in the Dubai Capitals while Charith Asalanka will feature in the Abu Dhabi Knight Riders side.

They will be joined at the franchise by explosive left-handed batter Bhanuka Rajapaksa, who scored 191 runs in six Asia Cup matches, including an unbeaten, match-winning 71 off 45 balls in the final.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here